Certifying authorities

What are certifying authorities?

To apply for national teacher certification, you'll need to contact the certifying authority in your state or territory. This certifying authority is who you'll work with to undertake the certification process, and ultimately become certified. These authorities are listed below. At AITSL, we work with certifying authorities to ensure that national certification continues to be rigorous, valid and reliable across jurisdictions.

List of certifying authorities 


State/territoryCertifying authoritySystem/sectorWebsite 
Australian Capital TerritoryACT Teacher Quality InstituteGovernment, Catholic and IndependentWeb
New South WalesNSW Education Standards Authority (NESA)Government, Catholic and IndependentWeb
Northern TerritoryTeacher Registration Board of the Northern TerritoryGovernment, Catholic and IndependentWeb
QueenslandQueensland College of Teachers (QCT)Government, CatholicWeb
QueenslandIndependent Schools Queensland (ISQ)IndependentWeb
South AustraliaSouth Australia Department for EducationGovernmentWeb
South AustraliaCatholic Education South Australia (CESA)Catholic Web
South AustraliaAssociation of Independent Schools South Australian (AISSA)IndependentWeb
VictoriaIndependent Schools Victoria (ISV)IndependentWeb
VictoriaMelbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools (MACS)Catholic 


Western AustraliaAssociation of Independent Schools of Western Australia (AIS WA)IndependentWeb


Interested teachers from the following systems are encouraged to contact their employers for more information:

  • Tasmania - all sectors
  • Victoria - Government sector
  • Western Australia - Government and Catholic sectors

Got a question about certification?

Although we're always here to help, if you have a question about certification, you should contact your relevant certifying authority from the table above.