About the Summit

The 2018 Highly Accomplished and Lead Teacher (HALT) Summit will be held in Canberra on 16 and 17 March 2018. The Summit is an exclusive and free event for nationally certified teachers to connect, share, and develop their expertise as educational leaders.

The Summit gives you the opportunity to work with leading international and Australian thinkers to develop your skills to lead and inspire colleagues. The times below will help you plan your attendance. A detailed program will be available early in Term 1, 2018.


HALT Summit 2018 guests

Dr Simon Breakspear is known internationally for helping educational leaders navigate complex change, harness robust evidence and drive continuous improvement for better learning. He is a dynamic and engaging presenter with a penchant for making complex issues accessible and offering practical strategies to navigate them. Simon began his work in education as a high school teacher in Sydney. He is currently the Executive Director of Agile Schools and Research Fellow of the Asia Pacific Centre for Leadership and Change at The Education University of Hong Kong.

Peggy Brookins is the CEO and President of the US Board for Professional Teaching Standards. She is a highly respected professional and pioneering STEM educator who has comprehensive experience in developing, planning, managing, organizing, and implementing education programs and providing leadership to knowledge focused initiatives.

Distinguished Professor Viviane Robinson of the University of Auckland. She specialises in school improvement, leadership and the relationship between research and the improvement of practice. She is a voracious researcher of a broad range of issues relating to school leadership, educational policy and leadership skills, particularly interpersonal skills that are crucial to effective leadership. 

Laureate Professor John Hattie is Director of the Melbourne Educational Research Institute at the University of Melbourne and Board Chair of the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership. His research interests include performance indicators, models of measurement, and evaluation of teaching and learning.

Program times

Day 1, Friday 16 March 2018

9am - 10am : Arrival and registration

10am - 5pm : Full day program

6pm : HALT Network Dinner

Day 2, Saturday 17 March 2018

9am - 3pm

Optional activities

Feedback from Summit 2017 indicated participants would be interested in additional activities outside of the Summit program, for example, school visits. Please indicate on your registration form if you would be interested in participating in additional activities on Thursday 15 March and depending on interest, AITSL may be able to make arrangements for such activities


This is an exclusive event for nationally certified teachers and there is no charge to attend the Summit.

However, Summit participants are responsible for booking and paying for their own transport and accommodation. We would urge our interstate guests to book flights as soon as possible to ensure you are able to travel at your preferred time.

Please note that unlike the Summits in 2016 and 2017, AITSL is unfortunately unable to offer accommodation for one night for guests travelling from interstate. However, the QT Hotel has offered a discounted accomodation rate for HALT Summit attendees (see details in section below). We are also pleased to be hosting a free dinner on the Friday night and more details about this gala event will be provided closer to the Summit.

When completing your registration form, please confirm that you have your principal’s endorsement. While the Summit is free to attend we ask you to please seek your principal’s support to attend, particularly given that the Friday is a school day and you may require coverage.

Venue and accomodation

The Summit is being hosted at the QT Hotel in New Acton, Canberra, ACT. New Acton is a 10 – 15 minute taxi ride from Canberra Airport.

The QT Hotel discount rate is no longer available and the hotel is reaching maximum capacity. There are a number of hotels situated nearby and we recommend you contact them for your accommodation requirements.

For more information please read the Summit FAQs or contact the AITSL HALT team at haltnetwork@aitsl.edu.au