The National Review of Teacher Registration Expert Panel today came together to agree on ways of working. The panel has been formed in response to all Australian Education Ministers agreeing to the National Review of Teacher Registration. The Review will look at whether registration requirements are consistently and robustly applied across Australia to help ensure every Australian learner experiences quality teaching.

Panel members agreed that the key for the review is to focus on the extent to which there is national consistency and rigour in teacher registration processes across the country in terms of the application of the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers (Teacher Standards). This will include identifying examples of excellent practice, challenges and barriers across the whole teaching profession, including early childhood teachers and vocational education and training (VET) in schools teachers.

“The Teacher Standards, which were developed in consultation with the profession, are now deeply embedded across Australia. The standards support quality teaching, and will continue to do so – the focus for the review will be on exploring the level to which the registration systems across Australia get the most they can out of the standards” Chair of the National Review of Teacher Registration Expert Panel Chris Wardlaw said.

“Great progress has been made in strengthening assurance around our graduate teachers through the Teacher Education Ministerial Advisory Group (TEMAG) recommendations, and states and territories have done significant work around raising teaching quality. It makes sense to now look at the whole system and consider the profession including early childhood and VET in schools teachers,” Mr Wardlaw said.

“The review is also timely as the National Framework that we use to register teachers against the Teacher Standards has been in place since 2011. This is an opportunity to ensure we have harmony and consistency across the country in terms of how our regulators assess teachers for registration,” Mr Wardlaw said.

“The Panel is looking forward to identifying any improvements that need to be made to strengthen the teacher registration system and help build teaching quality across Australia,” Mr Wardlaw said.

“Consultation is critical for the Review, and the independent expert panel intends to consult with a broad range of voices in every state and territory.

“We invite anyone who would like to have a voice on the review to visit the AITSL website for details of the consultation. We would especially urge teachers and principals to participate in the consultation process.

The Expert Panel is expected to report back to Education Council later in the year.

Media Release - National Review of Teacher Registration Panel meets (PDF, 195 KB)

Read more about the review from the National Review of Teacher Registration page.

Media contact

Dianne Jickell
T: 0424 460 943
E: [email protected]


Notes for editors 

The Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL) provides national leadership for the Australian, State and Territory Governments in promoting excellence in the profession of teaching and school leadership. AITSL is funded by the Australian Government.

National Review of Teacher Registration Expert Panel members:

  • Ms Pitsa Binnion – Principal, McKinnon Secondary College Victoria
  • Mr Marino D’Ortenzio, Assistant Principal at Epping Secondary College and Honorary Deputy Vice President (Secondary) AEU Victorian Branch
  • Mr David Gee – Headmaster, Wesley College, Western Australia
  • Dr Peter Lind – Registrar of the Teachers Registration Board of South Australia
  • Mr Anthony McClaran – CEO Tertiary Education Quality Standards Agency
  • Emeritus Professor Wendy Patton – Emeritus Professor Queensland University of Technology and Chair Queensland College of Teachers
  • Ms Gabrielle Sinclair – CEO Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority
  • Ms Christine Wilkinson - Teacher St Joseph's Catholic College East Gosford NSW and President of Independent Education Union of Australia NSW/ACT Branch
  • Mr Dennis Yarrington – President Australian Primary Principals Association